How to Prevent Google from Saving Location History. Where you go, Google goes. According to a recent report, Google continues to track your mobile device even if you’ve opted out of its tracking services; Google’s Location History continues to store location data. When you have location services turned on, Google constantly pings your phone from cell towers and Wi-Fi and is using GPS to see where you are. The frequency with which it finds you can be every few minutes or every few seconds, which paints a pretty accurate picture of where you are at all times. However, in the app it is recorded where we were at all times, something that many people do not like. For that reason we are going to see how to prevent Google from saving location history.

Disable location history from Google Maps

To do it from the Google Maps app on your Android device, the process is extremely simple. You will have to follow the steps that we are going to indicate below:

First you will have to open Google Maps. Next, press on your profile photo in the upper right corner of the screen. A new menu will appear where you must select “Your routes“. Now click on the three points that appear in the upper right corner. A new menu is displayed where we must select the last option”Settings and privacy“. We go down until we find the section of”Location settings“And we can see that one of the options says”Location history is active“Click on that option. Now we will see”Activity controls“And just below”Location history”With a switch to deactivate said option. By pressing we go to another screen where we can pause the location history. In this way, no kind of record of where we have been will be saved. If we want to delete the current history, we simply go back to the section “Location settings“And click on”Clear location history”.

Disable it from the Google account

In case you don’t want to do it from the Google Maps app, then we can do it from the same Google app, the result will be the same.

For this we are going to locate the Google app on our device. Once opened, we will have to press on our profile photo that is located in the upper right corner of the screen. In this menu we will find a section called “Manage your Google account”Which you must press. A new window opens where we can see the configuration of our account. Here if we slide to the left we can change the tab, we must get to the one that says “Data and Personalization“.In this place we will find”Location history“Which would be the same option that we access from Maps. Here you will have to enter”Controls your account activity”And move the switch that should be blue in case it is active. Then we press the button “Pause” and ready.

In this way the location history is paused, it can be reactivated when we see fit without any kind of problem. But for the moment and until you decide, you have achieved prevent Google from saving location history.

Share it with your friends!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here